The last 24 hours has been a mixed bag of emotions.  A close friend of mine came out to me yesterday morning on my way to the UIWP, so I spent most of my time messaging back and forth with her.  Two important people in my life lost loved ones.  My roommate of 5 years lost her father to Parkinsons a couple of weeks ago and last night was the memorial service.  As I was driving back to Champaign late last night, my mentor and fellow English teacher who just retired this past year lost her husband to a sudden heart attack.

Yesterday, I shared with my friend that it’s disheartening when we wait for tragedy to strike and then begin to dialogue about difficult topics.  No school or church (contexts that I spend most of my time in) is perfect, but I don’t want us to wait around anymore to have a “reason” to address “controversial” issues. I’m not saying we’ll find the solutions or even temporary band-aids right away, but isn’t it time we open up these doors?

I know it is.

Leave a comment